Zucchini with Cream and Garlic

I don’t appreciate it when food tries to be something it’s not. I think this indignant mindset began when I was a kid, on the rare occasions my parents bought home a box of fruit-shaped marzipan. They were gorgeous, and I would always choose my piece very carefully. I would pick the most delicious looking one, in the shape of a mango or something, and take a huge bite. Instead of the juicy blast of mango juice I knew I shouldn’t expect but did anyway, I ended up with a mouthful of almond paste. I’m not hating on marzipan; I love it. I just don’t think it should resemble fruit. The beautiful but deceiving shapes and colors get in your head, and then you’re disappointed when you only taste almond.

Before I go too crazy on marzipan artists, I should tell you that if you handed me a box of gorgeously crafted marzipan in any shape I would still eat it because come on, it’s marzipan. This frustrating is a little displaced I guess because my real issue is with the “zoodles” craze. Magically, vegetables in the shape of noodles will trick you into thinking they are actual noodles, and you are thereafter cured of pasta cravings. Hah!

After I was done scoffing, I thought I would try it out. I’m glad I did, because this recipe turned out to be delicious. I’m still contesting the semantics a little: this is a recipe for “zucchini with garlic and cream” instead of “creamy zoodles with garlic,” because though tasty, it (and I’m sure nothing ever) could ever convince me I no longer need for pasta in my life. I am certain the craving for a plate of fettucini is sure to hit in the next few days, but I admit that a giant bowl of this is all I need for a very happy dinner tonight.

M1230033

Zucchini with garlic and cream

Peeling the zucchini into ribbons take a few extra minutes, but the resulting texture is worth it. If you don’t feel like peeling it, just slice it very thinly.

1 large zucchini
1 clove garlic, grated
¼ cup cream
¼ cup parmesan
salt and pepper
Olive oil

Using a vegetable peeler, peel away strips of the zucchini until it’s all in ribbons. Set aside.

Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet, and add the garlic. Stir, cooking on medium until the garlic just barely starts to turn golden. Add the zucchini and a few pinches of salt, and stir to coat.

Cook the zucchini for 3 minutes or so, or until the zucchini is cooked through.

Remove from the heat and drain out some of the water the zucchini shed while cooking. Drain as much as you can, then stir in cream, parmesan, a few grinds of fresh pepper, and more salt to taste. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

